Autumn · Jeju-do · Field listing

Jeju Olle Walking Festival 2026

The essentials first: whether it is open, what it costs, how hard it is to reach and what to expect if you do not speak Korean.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival festival
Original Korea Seasons illustration; not a documentary photograph
When
Nov 5 — 7ConfirmedConfirmed dates
Where
Jocheon to Hado, northeast Jeju: Olle Courses 19 and 20 (start at Jocheon Mansedongsan)Jeju-do
Admission
PAIDTaking part as a walker costs 30,000 won; the discounted rate is 25,000 won for groups of 20 or more, people with disabilities, national merit recipients and young people born in 2008 or later (KTO and Korean press agree). Online pre-registration through the Olle Pass app ran from July 8 to October 9 and has closed. Press reports say people who missed it can still register on the day, but none of the sources reachable on October 23 states the on-site price, so confirm it with the organiser. One report says the fee comes bundled with commemorative items and sponsor goods; whether lunch is included was not stated.
From Seoul
About 1 h 10 m flight time, Gimpo to Jeju (excluding airport time and the transfer east)Fly Gimpo to Jeju International Airport, then take the east-bound express bus 101 to the Jocheon transfer stop, about a five-minute walk from the Course 19 start at Jocheon Mansedongsan (Visit Jeju's route directions). Check live times in Naver or Kakao Maps. Whether a festival shuttle runs was not confirmed.
Hours
Walking 09:00-17:00 daily; lunch and programmes 11:00-14:00 (organiser schedule as reported by Korean press). KTO's registered listing shows 08:00-16:00.
Organiser
Jeju Olle call centre, 064-762-2190

Is this one for you?

Who it suits. This suits people who want to spend three days walking a coastal stretch of Jeju alongside a few thousand others, with performances and village food stops along the way, and who are comfortable covering 11.5 to 13 km on foot each day. It is a poor fit if you want a single venue to wander in, a short visit, or a flexible timetable: each day is a one-way walk that starts and finishes at different places, so you cannot simply turn up for an hour.

When to go. The reported walking window is 09:00 to 17:00, with lunch and programmes between 11:00 and 14:00, so start with the morning group rather than arriving at midday. The three legs differ in start and finish points, so work out the day-by-day order before you book anything. The opening ceremony on November 5 and the Jeongwan monk's meal at the end of that first leg are the headline moments of day one.

LOCAL WEATHER

Weather near the festival

Local forecast is temporarily unavailable.

Korea Meteorological Administration forecast

Need something we do not list — a stall menu, a parking gate, a last bus? The Korea Travel Helpline answers in English around the clock: dial 1330 inside Korea, or +82-2-1330 from abroad.

The Jeju Olle Walking Festival is a three-day group walk along the Olle trail network, not a fixed festival ground you can drop into. In 2026 it runs November 5 to 7, a Thursday to Saturday, on Olle Courses 19 and 20 in northeast Jeju, between Jocheon and Hado. It is the 16th edition; Korean press says the festival began in 2010. The host is Jeju Special Self-Governing Province and the organiser is the Jeju Olle Foundation, which runs the trail itself.

One fact shapes this edition: Korean reports describe it as the last festival in its present form, where large numbers walk the same stretch together over three days. From 2027, according to those reports, the festival moves to a new format spread over 25 days and covering all 23 courses. So this is a good year for anyone who specifically wants the big-group version.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival — official photograph 1
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / 2026 제주올레걷기축제 (7).jpg (KOGL Type3, unmodified)

What you actually do here

You walk. The 2026 route is split into three one-way legs, one per day, and each ends somewhere different from where it began. KTO lists the registered venue as Jocheon Mansedongsan (1141 Jocheon-ri, Jocheon-eup), the start of Course 19. Press reports name slightly different Jocheon spots for the opening ceremony, so confirm the assembly point in the Olle Pass app.

The legs, as reported:

  • Day 1, November 5: about 13 km, Jocheon to the Dongbok-ri Sports Center in Gujwa-eup, after the opening ceremony.
  • Day 2, November 6: about 11.5 km, from Dongbok-ri to the Jeju Field Wall Theme Park.
  • Day 3, November 7: about 12.9 km, walked in reverse from the Jeju Haenyeo Anti-Japanese Resistance Memorial Park to the same theme park, where the closing ceremony is reported.

That adds up to 37.4 km. The press describes the scenery as sea, stone field walls and village lanes; the field wall (batdam) is the black basalt boundary you see around Jeju fields. Participants are asked to bring their own cutlery and a tumbler and to carry their rubbish out.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival — official photograph 2
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / 2026 제주올레걷기축제 (11).jpg (KOGL Type3, unmodified)

Programme and timetable

KTO’s Korean record lists the main programmes as performances on the trail, traditional games and a campaign to clean up the coastal paths. The side programmes are Olle exercises, an Olle OX quiz, a QR stamp tour and a styling activity called “Kkodak Kkodak Meotnaegi”. Press reports add haenyeo (women divers) choir performances, village storytelling about field walls, Jeju 4.3 exhibitions and a workshop making decorative lights from haenyeo shelters.

Walking is reported as 09:00 to 17:00 each day, and lunch with programmes as 11:00 to 14:00. KTO’s registered listing gives 08:00 to 16:00. The difference is probably administrative, but if the exact start matters, use the Olle Pass notice. No per-stage performance timetable was available in the sources reached, so this guide does not promise when a given act appears.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival — official photograph 3
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / 2026 제주올레걷기축제 (5).jpg (KOGL Type3, unmodified)

Tickets, fees and booking

Participation is paid. The general fee is 30,000 won, and the discounted fee is 25,000 won for groups of 20 or more, people with disabilities, national merit recipients and young people born in 2008 or later. KTO’s own record and several Korean reports agree on this. One English-language listing says entry is free with pre-registration, and that does not match the official fee line.

Pre-registration ran from July 8 to October 9 in Olle Pass, the foundation’s official app, which now takes sign-ups from domestic and overseas users on the same platform. About 3,000 had signed up by mid-October. KTO’s English description mentions about 10,000 walkers a year, so the on-the-day turnout may be higher than the pre-registration count, but no source gives a 2026 cap. Reports say late sign-up is open on the day. The on-site price was not reported, so do not assume it matches the pre-registration fee. For questions, call 064-762-2190.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival — official photograph 4
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / 2026 제주올레걷기축제 (3).jpg (KOGL Type3, unmodified)

Getting there without a car

From Seoul, the practical route is a flight from Gimpo to Jeju International Airport, which takes about 1 hour 10 minutes in the air. From the airport, Visit Jeju’s directions for Course 19 point to the east-bound express bus 101 to the Jocheon transfer stop, a short walk from Manse Hill (Mansedongsan). Bus numbers and times change, so check a live map on the day.

No festival shuttle information was available. Since the route is one-way and the end point changes daily, work out how you will get back before choosing where to stay. The official site has a Traffic Information section, and that is where to check.

Jeju Olle Walking Festival — official photograph 5
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / 2026 제주올레걷기축제 (4).jpg (KOGL Type3, unmodified)

Food on site and nearby

KTO describes village programmes and food made with local farm and sea produce, but no stall list or prices were available, so nothing is promised here. The one named meal is on day one: temple-food master Jeongwan will serve lotus-leaf rice to about 500 walkers at the Dongbok-ri Sports Center. Reports say places are drawn, so it is not available to every walker.

For a documented Jeju specialty off the route, Jeju black pork is a native breed, and Jeju City’s Black Pork Street is a concentration of grill restaurants. It is in the city, not near Jocheon, so treat it as a separate meal.

Honest assessment

The festival’s strength is that it is a real walk on a well-kept trail, with village programmes along the way instead of a single stage. If you like walking, the three legs of 11.5 to 13 km are manageable for a regular walker, and the group format means you are rarely alone on the path.

The weaknesses are practical. Registration has closed and the on-site details are thin. The shuttle, parking and lunch arrangements were not confirmed, and the legs finish in different places from where they start. It is also an outdoor event in November, so bring layers and check the forecast. If you only want a coastal walk rather than the organised programme, the same Olle courses exist outside the festival dates, but you would miss the performances and the crowd that make this the festival. For a first-time visitor who cannot read Korean notices, the Olle Pass app and the call centre are the two things to sort out before you fly.

Local specialties to try

Jeju black pork
Photo: Korea Tourism Organization / Lee Beom-su (KOGL Type 1)

Jeju black pork (제주 흑돼지)

Heukdwaeji, or black pork, comes from a small native Jeju breed with black skin; Jeju's provincial livestock institute has been responsible for conserving the breed since 1986, and Visit Korea describes the meat as firm and chewy when grilled in thick cuts. Jeju City has a dedicated Black Pork Street of grill restaurants in Samdo-dong, shown in the photo. That is in the old city centre, not on the walking route, and this is a regional specialty rather than a promise about festival food stalls.

Questions worth asking

Is the Jeju Olle Walking Festival free?

No. Taking part as a walker costs 30,000 won, or 25,000 won for groups of 20 or more, people with disabilities, national merit recipients and those born in 2008 or later. Some English-language listings say entry is free; that conflicts with the Korea Tourism Organization's own fee line and with Korean press reports, so treat it as wrong.

Can I still register for 2026?

Online pre-registration through the Olle Pass app closed on October 9, with about 3,000 people signed up by mid-October. Korean press reports say people who missed it can register on the day. The on-site price and any daily limit were not stated in the sources reachable on October 23, so call 064-762-2190 before relying on it.

Which courses and distances are walked in 2026?

Olle Courses 19 and 20, split into three legs totalling 37.4 km. Day 1 (November 5) is about 13 km from Jocheon to the Dongbok-ri Sports Center. Day 2 (November 6) is about 11.5 km from Dongbok-ri to the Jeju Field Wall Theme Park. Day 3 (November 7) is about 12.9 km walked in reverse from the Jeju Haenyeo Anti-Japanese Resistance Memorial Park back to the same theme park.

What do I get for the fee? Is there a souvenir?

One report says the fee comes with official commemorative items and sponsor goods packaged together. The sources do not itemise the pack, say whether lunch is included, or describe the souvenir, so check the Olle Pass app or the call centre.

Is there parking or a festival shuttle?

No parking plan or shuttle timetable was found in the sources available. Because each day's walk starts and finishes at different places, a car left at the start would not be where you end up. The official site has a Traffic Information section, which is the place to check closer to the date.

Is there anything special on opening day?

Yes. On November 5, temple-food master Jeongwan will prepare lotus-leaf rice and serve about 500 walkers at the Dongbok-ri Sports Center, the first day's finish. Reports describe the 500 places as drawn from participants. The sources disagree on whether the draw runs through Olle Pass, so ask there.

LAST UPDATED · Oct 23, 2026